How Walter Mitty and Music Reminded Me How Good Life Is

I am a self professed music-holic. I’m not even sure if that’s a word, but if it was, it would describe me perfectly. I enjoy pretty much all types, and because I was a dancer, music affects me in a different way than a lot of people. It like touches my soul or some emotional thing like that. I’m not good at feelings and stuff.  Anyway, I love music.

the-secret-life-of-walter-mitty-poster-mountainI also love movies. I went to go see “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty” last week with the fam and I absolutely loved it.  Something about it really struck a chord with me.  For a lot of my life, I have imagined myself working in sports, with crazy hours, living in a loft in a big city somewhere.  I love travelling and seeing parts of the country, but I would also love to see other parts of the world.  I relish my alone time, and think it would be so fun to take a random trip somewhere exotic by myself sometime just because. Something about me is similar to Walter Mitty – he yearns for adventure, but lives a safe life.  He’s not unhappy, but he knows there are other things out there. I feel like that sometimes too. Whoa, this became a whole lot more soul bearing than I was originally planning…

Anyway, life around CStat can get pretty busy, especially towards the end of the semester. It’s easy to get burnt out from school, and finals, and looking for internships, and my current job, and church, and Bible Study, and friends, and homework, and everything else. I love my life, and things like church and Bible Study and friends and work are wonderful additions to my life. But sometimes it’s easy to forget that those are fun things. Sometimes, I just put my head down, go through the motions and see these great things as things that I (1) take for granted, and (2) sometimes have to put up with, especially when I’m channeling my inner Walter.

Which brings this all together! The music in Walter Mitty was freaking fantastic. I even made a playlist of it on youtube… (music-holic, remember?) So I’m watching the movie, and this song comes on (LISTEN TO IT. I’M OBSESSED)  

 I’m like sitting there in the movie, and some part of this song, the movie, and my life all come together, and I’m like, LIGHT BULB MOMENT. Life is awesome. And now I’m gonna go travel the world. k bye

No, but seriously. How easy is it to live like Walter? Just getting by? Wanting more, or just not really being entirely fulfilled in what you’re doing? You don’t have to travel the world to find what’s missing in your life. But you can be fulfilled in what you have around you. Maybe you hate your job. Like you dread going to work everyday and can’t wait to leave.  That sucks.  It really does. But there’s no reason you can’t find fulfillment in other aspects of your life! Maybe you have a wonderful family that you get to come home to, or really enjoy painting and you get to paint everyday after work. Or maybe you don’t know what gives you fulfillment, but there’s no reason you can’t find out what it is.  Life is too wonderful to spend unhappy.

Or maybe you’re like me. Busy all the time.  In fact, you need to be busy.  You see sleep as something that slows you down. You really pour yourself into everything around you, but sometimes forget to take care of little things for yourself (like eating a huge bowl of ice cream). You put your head down, and go through the motions forgetting to stop and smell the roses.  I love being busy, and I have my life all planned out.  But sometimes I forget how good my life is right now.  I have the most amazing family and friends in the entire world. I go to the perfect school for me with an incredible job. And my church and Bible study?? THE BEST

So basically, long story short, this life we live is pretty wonderful. If there’s something you’re unhappy about, change it. If you can’t change it, relish the joy you find in other aspects of life.  There are too many great things out there and around us to not find something to be happy about everyday.

Other links: Walter Mitty playlist: 

Walter Mitty trailer: 


2 thoughts on “How Walter Mitty and Music Reminded Me How Good Life Is

Leave a Reply

