Day 1!!

2014-06-09 14.05.52So today was AWESOME! Like, I’m obsessed with this place. We had “Intern Rookie Camp” which is basically a day that you spend with all the other interns getting acclimated with the culture at ESPN, taking a tour, etc. Everyone is super super nice and I just had a blast!

I will be working in the Digital Audio Content department, which is basically ESPN Radio. We started our day hearing different people give different presentations about random different things, ESPN culture, employee benefits, Disney etc. We also learned that 8,000 people applied for 68 positions, so that made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. We had lunch and then went on a tour of campus!! So we were all totally fan-girling. We saw Mark Schlereth, John Anderson, Lindsay Czarniak, Colin Cowherd, Michael Smith, Ryen Russillo, ummm I think a better question would be who we didn’t see. Anyway, that was cool. Oh, Andy Katz talked to us because we were in his studio. We went in a bunch of the studios, took a ton of pictures, and got to see production happening! It was so legit, I may lose you guys with my production speak, but we saw Sportscenter push to break, and work with the graphics during commercial break, and then come back live. So legit. Yea, everyone was cool. And then we broke into our departments. I met everyone there, super nice and got my schedule.  I’m doing a lot of training this week and then getting into the full swing of things starting on Sunday!! I am still waiting to wake up from this dream that I am convinced I’m in. Oh, and talking sports with all these people as obsessed as I am was like needed for the well-being of my soul. I LOVE SPORTS. Thanks to all the people who made me being here possible, you know who you are!

One thought on “Day 1!!

  1. Kathy Lentz says:

    OH MY GOSH! Soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo happy for you! I know you must be floating on Cloud 9 – ENJOY IT! This is going to be one GREAT summer. 🙂 Mommy

Leave a Reply

