Rebekah CREATES A RECIPE

Soooo I just made my own recipe spinoff on orzo and it was kind of amazing. I really believe that if money were no object (and calories didn’t count) I would own my own bakery and just bake food and make delicious dishes and eat and cook all the time. Wouldn’t that be the life?

Alright, so I’m calling this little beauty Chicken Parmesan Orzo, but don’t get confused, it’s not chicken parm like that. (does anyone else enjoy that commercial with Peyton Manning and the Nationwide jingle? I think it’s funny, but Jeff hates it so literally anytime it comes on, he freaks out, and I only seem to see that commercial when I’m with him…) ANYWAY, here’s what I used:

  • 1 cup orzo pasta
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil + 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 chicken breast, chopped
  • Lawry’s seasoning salt

I boiled the orzo accordingly, drained it.

I cooked the chopped chicken that was seasoned with Lawry’s in 1 teaspoon of olive oil until cooked through.

I heated the tablespoon of olive oil in a skillet at medium high with the garlic and onion, stirring until it was fragrant and the onions looked sauteed, 5ish minutes.

Turn the heat down to medium. I then added flour until lightly browned, about 2 minutes. Add in the milk, and stir regularly (like constantly) until it thickens up. It will bubble and such, that’s fine. Then add in the parmesean cheese and stir it all up until the cheese melts.

Once the cheese is melted, add the orzo and the chicken and eat it! I am super full from half of this recipe (the rest will be eaten tomorrow…). Throw in a smooth glass of wine, and you’ve got yourself a fine dinner!!

Maybe I should start a food blog. I didn’t take pictures because I was so hungry and didn’t have the patience to take pictures because I just wanted to stuff my face because I had a crazy busy day and was so hungry. BUT ANYWAY, MAKE THIS. I adopted this recipe from Damn Delicious, mostly because my once fresh then frozen and then thawed spinach looked icky and I was afraid of it ruining a delicious dish.

More tomorrow, making some bar things for my sweet fishies

Leave a Reply

