A Bazillion New Recipes

So I haven’t posted in a long time…. I’ve made a lot of new things since then, but I’ll start with following up on the pork chops from last time – they were best when I made them in the oven with the sauce poured over. MMMMM

Ight, first, this one pot pasta, which if you aren’t making a ton of one pot recipes, you be cray. Because you don’t even have to dirty a colander. Like how amazing is that? Everything cooks together and the pasta has a super amazing taste. I have absolutely no revisions to this masterpiece. Make it IMMEDIATELY. It’s super light. Oooh and the pasta is good when it gets a little burnt cheese on it. OMG

Made these cinnamon roll things for mi madre’s birthday, but with my own frosting recipe. I seriously love puff pastry. I didn’t roll the pasty either into cinnamon roll shapes, I just had the pastry in three longgg pieces and cut them up and then stacked them three high. Does that make sense? So they were sticks and then we dipped them into the frosting. For the frosting, I used approximately 2 oz of fat free cream cheese, 2ish T of unsalted butter, 1 1/2 cup of powdered sugar, and 1 T of vanilla extract. Just mix it together with a hand mixer. You can add more powdered sugar as you see fit. I literally just make the frosting as I go by taste every time I’ve made it.

Made these delicious BBQ crock pot chicken drumsticks last weekend, perfect for 7 hours of basketball watching with fun friends. I halved the recipe. Because of this, or maybe because my crock pot gets really hot, I would only cook it for 2.5 hours before adding the sauce. And definitely don’t add the sauce any earlier because as you probably know, cooking BBQ sauce in the crock pot thins it out and makes it runny. These were really really good.

Made this below average side dish earlier this week. I couldn’t get the zucchini to saute right and then I couldn’t get the tomatoes to blister, they were just bursting or doing nothing (no in between), and there wasn’t enough lime juice and cilantro flavor to go around. I won’t be making this again, which is super disappointing because I love everything ingredient in this 😦

Made some AWESOME fajitas in the crock pot, recipe here! However, I did my own thing, recipe as follows:

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into THIN strips
1 (15 ounce) can diced tomatoes with green chiles
1 medium sweet onion, sliced
1 large green bell pepper, seeded and sliced
1 Tablespoon vegetable oil
1 teaspoon chili powder
sprinkling of garlic powder
juice from half a lime
20 leaves of cilantro, plus more for topping fajita
1/4 teaspoon salt
9 corn tortillas, warmed to serve (in the skillet)

Directions:
Combine everything in the crock pot, stir to combine gently, and cook on high for 2 hours (or low for 4-6)

THIS WAS SO GOOD. I’m going to get three meals out of this. And talk about easy! You just put everything in the crock pot. Cutting up peppers, onions, and chicken is easy. Very delicious and very worth it.

Finally, I made these s’mores bars this morning for a fundraiser thing my church had tonight. These were super super good. I used two heaping cups of melted semi-sweet chocolate chips for the chocolate layer. I also didn’t roll out the dough for the top layer so it didn’t cover the whole top, but once I baked it, it spread and covered most of the top. These things are as close to s’mores as I have tasted without a campfire. Definitely making them again. Make sure they are very close to completely cool (if not totally cool) before you cut them. You want the chocolate and all of the layers to set so you have the perfect graham cracker, chocolate, marshmallow ratio.

That’s all for now! Making lemon cookies for bstud and also attempting a meatloaf  next week. Adieu

Leave a Reply

