S’mores Bars

S'mores BarsOooh man, have I got some delicious stuff for you this week. I am trying so many new recipes that I literally CAN’T EVEN. We will start with some delicious babies which I made for my sweet babies (a.k.a. the amazing freshmen I get to lead in Bible study every single week). I bake them something every week, but this has got to be near the top of the list on the delicious scale. Also, I have a confession. I’m a super messy baker. Like it’s ridiculous. As in I had flour and sugar dust and marshmallow puff on the counter, chocolate on my apron (which has saved SO MANY of my shirts), and graham cracker crumbs on my floor. That’s the bad news, the good news is that I’m a clean freak and it takes only a few minutes to clean my mess up. Sooo, this dessert is a bit messy, but it’s more than worth it.

IMG_0956S’mores Bars

Yield: About 12 Bars
Prep Time: 20-60 minutes (depending on method)    Cook Time: 25-27 minutes

What you need:

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened (or you can use my cheating method – place a still wrapped stick in the microwave for 5 seconds, flip the stick to the right once, and microwave for 5 more seconds)
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1.25 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 6 graham crackers, crushed
  • 2 heaping cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips, melted (or enough chocolate bars to cover an 8×8 or 9×11 pan)
  • 7 ounces marshmallow creme

Directions:

  • Spray an 8×8 or 7×9 pan with cooking spray, set aside
  • Cream the butter and sugars together in a large bowl with a hand mixer
  • Add the egg and vanilla, mix well
  • Mix in the flour, baking powder, and salt
  • Pour in the crushed graham crackers, mix well (you can use your hand mixer for all of the mixing)
  • IMG_0951Press 1/2 of the dough into the bottom of the pan
  • Melt your chocolate chips – my favorite method is in the microwave at 60% power for 35 second intervals, always stirring in between
  • Pour the chocolate over the crust, let chocolate harden
  • Spread the marshmallow creme over the cooled chocolate (if you don’t wait for the chocolate to at least mostly harden, you will have a hard time spreading the creme)S'mores Bars
  • Place the rest of the dough on top of the creme, making sure you don’t leave many spaces. The dough may not cover the whole top, but it will spread as it cooks. Do your best to cover as much as you can.
  • Bake at 350 for 25-27 minutes or until golden brown.
  • Let cool before cutting and serving (you MUST do this in order for the bars to set)

This recipe is adapted from Gate to Plate.

4 thoughts on “S’mores Bars

Leave a Reply

