Easy Rice

Easy RiceI am such a sucker for sauteed onions. When my mom made fajitas when I was growing up, I would eat tortilla fulls of sauteed peppers and onions. I get them on my burger whenever it’s an option, and definitely in my burrito bowls at Chipotle. There’s something about onions that are good, but saute them up and they’re even better. When I saw this one pot meal full of sauteed onions and tomatoes, I had to try it. This rice is super easy and pretty healthy. You can eat it as a main dish (add some chicken or leave it as is!) or as a side dish to a delicious meat. Either way, this was a beauty of a recipe that is going under the “make me again” list.Easy Rice

Easy Rice

Serves: 2 as main dish, 4-5 as side dish
Prep Time: 5 minutes        Cook Time: 25-30 minutes

What you need: Easy Rice

  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1-1/4 cups raw rice (I used white, but brown would be healthier!)
  • 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 12 oz vegetable broth
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  • Easy RiceHeat the oil in a skillet over medium heat
  • Add the onion and saute until translucent – about 10 to 12 minutes
  • Stir in the rice, tomatoes with their juice, broth, salt and pepper
  • Raise to high heat until it boils and then cover and lower to medium low or a simmer
  • Cook for 15-18 minutes or until the liquid is absorbed into the rice and the rice is your desired tenderness

This recipe is adapted from Vegan In the Freezer.

Leave a Reply

