Backwards Chocolate Cookies

Backwards Chocolate CookiesWe have already discussed how I am a messy baker, but I am also EXTREMELY persnickety (fun word, right??). I have the secret to PERFECT cookies. They’re soft, thick, and delicious. To make these magical cookies, you have to refrigerate the dough and then shape the dough into mounds to bake. Whenever somebody helps me make cookies, I try and explain this to them. One time, my friend Jeff was helping me (or just eating all the dough which I do NOT recommend) and I taught him my cool mound trick. Well, he tried to be funny and started stacking the mounds on top of each other. WHAT IS THAT? I let him have his fun, but I died a little bit inside. My dad was helping me a different time and decided to make long cookies instead of tall ones. Look people, I’m all for having fun, but when it comes to my secret perfect cookies, I do not joke around. Well my dear readers, I have come to share the secret with you. Hopefully if you have helping hands, they will be more understanding of the sacred process than my helpers. The perfect cookies to try these tips on are backwards cookies! They have a chocolate dough and white chips (get it, get it??).  To be warned, these are very delicious, but relatively time consuming, so plan accordingly. Be sure to enjoy with a glass of milk!

Backwards Chocolate CookiesBackwards Chocolate Cookies

Yields: about 2 dozen cookies
Prep Time: at least 2 hours and 20 minutes        Cook Time: 9-11 minutes

What you need:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick of unsalted butter), room temperature – set out for 20 minutes and then microwave with the wrapper on for 5 seconds
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup + 1/8 cup (2 tablespoons) cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/8 cup (2 tablespoons)  milk
  • 1.5 cups white chocolate chips

Directions:

  • With a hand mixer, cream the butter by itself in a large bowl until fluffy, add the sugars and mix thoroughly. If a mixture is dry, KEEP MIXING, it will come together
  • Add the egg and vanilla, mix well
  • In a medium sized bowl, mix flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt together with a spoonBackwards Chocolate Cookies
  • Slowly add the flour mixture to the wet mixture, mixing with your hand mixer every time you add more
  • Add the milk and white chocolate chips, stir together with a spoon
  • Chill the dough, covered, in the fridge for at least two hours – I chilled mine for 2 hours and 1o minutes. Consider investing in some awesome mixing bowls have lids 🙂 (you can chill overnight, so you could make ahead to save time)
  • Preheat oven to 350
  • Backwards Chocolate CookiesTake 1 tablespoon of dough and form it into a mound. You want your dough to be much taller than it is wide. I like to scoop the dough out and push the mini mound up so that it grows taller. Does that make sense?
  • Bake for 9-11 minutes
  • Remove from oven and let sit for about 2 minutes. I like to get the mounds for the next pan ready during this time. After these 2 minutes, spatula your cookies over to a cooling rack to cool

This recipe is adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction, another beauty of a blog 🙂

3 thoughts on “Backwards Chocolate Cookies

Leave a Reply

