Italian Sausage and Veggies

Italian Sausage and VeggiesOne of the only disadvantages to my apartment is the fact that I don’t have a grill. I love grilled food and now that it’s getting nice and toasty (was 92 today…), my craving for the grilled goodness has increased. To help quench my craving a little bit, I bought some Italian sausage and looked for a skillet recipe for those bad boys. When I found one that was full of sauteed vegetables, I looked no further. In fact, I sat around most of the day waiting for dinner time so I could make this. Without the sausage, this dish is fantastic, but you really need the meat to fill ya up. And it’s completely gluten free 🙂 #winning

Italian Sausage and Veggies

Serves: 2-5 (depends on if you serve it over pasta, on bread, or by itself)
Prep Time: 5 minutes        Cook Time: 40-45 minutes

What you need:

  • 5 Italian sausage links Italian Sausage and Veggies
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 different bell peppers, sliced (I used green, red, and yellow)
  • 1 large onion, cut in half and then sliced
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • salt, to taste
  • 1/2 cup vegetable broth

Directions:

  • Heat olive oil in a large skillet, add sausages
  • Italian Sausage and VeggiesBrown sausages on medium heat, but don’t cook them all the way through, just make sure they are browned all over (about 10-13 minutes)
  • Remove sausages from skillet. I chose to cut mine up while I sauteed the veggies, but it’s up to you
  • Toss peppers and onions into the skillet and turn the heat to medium high
  • Stir the vegetables every so often making sure you see some browning of them, about 7-9 total minutes
  • Add the garlic and saute for another minute
  • Add the salt and broth, let the broth simmer for about another minute
  • Add the sausages and turn the heat down to medium low. Cover and cook until the veggies are very soft and the sausage is cooked through, up to 25 minutes
  • You can eat this as is, over pasta, or on a sandwich roll. I ate it as was and will get 2 meals out of it

This recipe is adapted from Simply Recipes.

Leave a Reply

