Cowboy Casserole

Cowboy Casserole - Rebekah and her Ramblings. A creamy and comforting casserole topped with cheese!! I have a huge soft spot for meat, particularly red meat. I am not a vegetarian, nor do I ever think I could be. Living in an apartment often limits the kinds of meat I can have because I don’t own a grill and I don’t like spending the kind of money it takes to go out. The recipe I have for you today is full of red meat, but creamy and chunky vegetables, making it the perfect comfort food. Once it gets cold outside, I’m afraid I’m going to eat this once a week. It’s also pretty reasonably priced, I’m all about not breaking the bank! GLUTEN FREE #winning

Cowboy Casserole

Serves: 2-3
Prep Time: about 5 minutes        Cook Time: 30ish minutes total

Cowboy Casserole - Rebekah and her Ramblings. A creamy and comforting casserole topped with cheese!!What you need:

  • about 12 crushed tortilla chips (not finely crushed, just broken with your hands)
  • 1 pound of red meat
  • 1/2 yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon of cumin, or to taste
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 can cream of mushroom soup (I can’t find what size I used, but just the normal small ones)
  • 1 15 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 1 bunch of cilantro chopped
  • juice of 1 lime (optional)
  • 1/3 cup your favorite shredded cheese (I used 2% Mexican)

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 350*
  • Season the meat with cumin, salt, and pepper
  • Brown the meat in a skillet with about half of the onion you have chopped. Use a potato masher to break the meat up, it works so well!!
  • In a bowl, combine the browned meat, soup, tomatoes, cilantro, lime juice, and the rest of the onions. Stir well
  • Spray a loaf pan with cooking spray and place the tortilla chips on the bottom. You want the bottom to be fully lined with them
  • Dump the mixture in
  • Top with cheese
  • Bake for about 10 minutes or the casserole gets real bubbly
  • Let it sit for about 5 minutes so it can settle. This is the hardest part!

This recipe is adapted from Simply Texas!!

One thought on “Cowboy Casserole

Leave a Reply

