Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

Chocolate Buttercream Frosting - Rebekah and her Ramblings. A smooth and decadent homemade chocolate buttercream!I am not a super big cake person, but I am big frosting person. How can you not be? I remember one time I had some can frosting left over from a cake I made one of my friends. I spread that stuff on a graham cracker and ate it for dessert after breakfast. I didn’t feel too good after because there was like a stupid amount of frosting left over, BUT my tastebuds were happy and that’s all that really matters. I decided that I want to start this new thing at work – bake a cake or some form of dessert once a month to “celebrate” all of the birthdays of the people that month. It’s a small gesture, but I think it’s a nice thing that people will appreciate. Plus, baking for people is always better – new recipes, get to share, don’t have the temptation in the house, etc. One of the other directors is having a birthday this month so I asked him what kind of cake he liked. I mentioned that I was thinking about making a chocolate frosting and he said yellow cake with it. OMG butter cake with chocolate frosting is my favorite! I picked up a butter cake mix (I admit I was too lazy to make the cake from scratch) and got to work. OOOH, tonight I’m making a white cake to finish off the frosting because it has been calling to me from the fridge!

Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

Chocolate Buttercream Frosting - Rebekah and her Ramblings. A smooth and decadent homemade chocolate buttercream!Yield: 24 cupcakes plus 1 13×9 cake (that’s what I did, I had to use 2 different cake mixes obviously)
Prep Time: 25 minutes (sitting the butter out)          Mixing Time: 10 minutes

What you need:

  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 8 oz cream cheese, softened (I used full fat)
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup cocoa
  • 3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips, melted
  • 4 cups powdered sugar

Directions:

  • Mix the butter with a hand mixer in a large bowl
  • Add the cream cheese and vanilla and mix until it is well combined
  • Add the cocoa and mix well, scraping the sides of the bowl with a spoon if need be. You really want to mix the cocoa in well so it is smooth
  • Mix in the melted chocolate (I melted in after I added the cocoa to the mix and let it cool for 2 or so minutes before adding). Mix well on medium speed
  • Add the powdered sugar and mix on a low setting. Mix until the frosting is fully combined and smooth. Frost the cooled cake or you can eat this with cookies or graham crackers or your fingers…
  • You can refrigerate it for a up to 5 days as long as it is sealed. Let it come to room temperature before spreading. You may need to remix it to get the right consistency.

Chocolate Buttercream Frosting - Rebekah and her Ramblings. A smooth and decadent homemade chocolate buttercream!This recipe is adapted from Wicked Good Kitchen.

One thought on “Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

Leave a Reply

