Sweet Potato Hash

IMG_2010So sorry I haven’t been posting lately! I’ve been on a bit of a pre-holiday diet plus I’ve been trying to save some money for Christmas so I’ve been cutting back on my grocery budget. This hash I made last night is cheap though, and healthy. Plus it tastes like fall and warms you up to the tips of your toes. I put my own spin on this recipe, and I always encourage you to do the same. I am making several new recipes this week so watch for lots of great and delicious tasty treats!

Sweet Potato Hash

IMG_2008Serves: 2
Prep Time: 10 minutes                         Cook Time: about 20 minutes

What you need:

  • 1/2 pound ground meat (I used 96% lean)
  • 2 sweet potatoes, washed and chopped (about 1.25 pounds)
  • 1 yellow bell pepper, sliced and then cut in half
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon Italian seasoning
  • 1/4 cup fresh grated Asiago cheese

Directions:

  • Brown the ground meat in a large skillet on medium heat until the outside is no longer pink, break into large chunks if it’s not already broken up
  • Add the rest of the ingredients, except the cheese, to the skillet and stir well
  • Cover and cook for about 12-14 minutes or the potatoes and onions are soft
  • Remove from heat and top with cheese

This recipe is adapted from The Cozy Apron.

Leave a Reply

