Oatmeal No Bakes

Oatmeal No Bakes - Rebekah and her Ramblings. Super easy, no bake, gluten free cookie. What more could you want??When I went home for Christmas, I was in the process of changing jobs so I was blessed with two weeks of transition time. While I was at home, I baked tons of different recipes, fully enjoying my time off. I was going through some of my mom’s cook books, and found a gem of a recipe from my grandma. My grandma is a straight up old fashioned baker, she doesn’t really measure ingredients, tells me to bake things “until they’re done,” and makes so many MAGICAL recipes. When I asked my dad about these specific NO BAKE cookies, he turned into a small child, detailing how much he loveddd those cookies. They are gluten free and absolutely delicious!

Oatmeal No Bakes
Yield: about 3 dozen                     Total Time: about 1 hour

Oatmeal No Bakes - Rebekah and her Ramblings. Super easy, no bake, gluten free cookie. What more could you want??What you need:

  • 2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup milk (I used 2%)
  • 1/3 cup cocoa
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3.5 cup quick oatmeal, plus more if needed

Directions:

  • Melt sugar, milk, cocoa, and butter in a large sauce pan over medium high heat, stir occasionally
  • Cook until smooth and butter is melted and then remove from heat and add remaining ingredients
  • Stir well -if it is still a little runny, add more oatmeal – you don’t want them too runny!
  • Using a cookie scoop or 2 spoons, scoop the cookies onto a piece of wax or parchment paper
  • Allow cookies to cool and harden before eating!

Adapted this one from my grandma ❤

Leave a Reply

