BBQ Chicken Thighs

BBQ Chicken Thighs - Rebekah and her Ramblings. An oven baked spin on a classic Texas BBQ dishSo my parents live in Nebraska and are currently suffering through a blizzard. I wore shorts to the gym today and a sleeveless top to work.  Houston 1, Nebraska 0. I am always in the mood for BBQ, but the warmer weather (which is currently on its way out thanks to a “cold” front) gives me a BBQ craving in the worst way. I don’t have a grill, as all 1 of my avid readers will know, but I try not to let that hinder my ability to get that BBQ goodness in my belly.  After H-E-B had chicken thighs on fire sale, I found this gorgeous recipe and ignored the large amount of calories.  If you work out and behave yourself the rest of the day, you got nothing to worry about :) THESE ARE AMAZING. Plus, GLUTEN FREE #winwin  Sorry the picture is kinda lame, I semi-forgot to take more pictures once I was done letting the chicken rest OOPS

BBQ Chicken Thighs
Serves: 3
Prep Time: 5 minutes                    Cook Time: about 1 hour

What you need:

  • 6 chicken thighs, I kept the skin on
  • 1.5 cups bbq sauce
  • 1/4 cup peach preserves
  • 1 clove garlic, minced

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 400* and line a cookie sheet with foil, spray with cooking spray
  • Place the thighs skin side down on the pan and bake for 25 minutes
  • While the chicken is baking, combine the sauce, peach preserves, and garlic in a medium sized sauce pan and heat over medium heat
  • Stir the sauce combination and bake, covered, for about 7 minutes or it’s heated through
  • Remove the chicken from the oven and cover with bbq sauce – I just used a spoon, but a brush would work well.
  • Flip the chicken over and brush with more sauce
  • Cook for 7 minutes
  • Remove and flip over, cover with sauce
  • Bake for 7 more minutes
  • Turn the oven up to 425*
  • Remove chicken and cover with more sauce, baking for about 5 minutes or the chicken is fully cooked through. The oven doesn’t have to be fully heated before you add the chicken
  • Remove the chicken from the oven AND LET SIT for at least 7 minutes, 10 if you can stand it – always try to let your meat rest to really absorb all the flavors

 

This recipe is adapted from The Pioneer Woman. 

Leave a Reply

