Giant Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie

Giant Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie - Rebekah and her Ramblings. A soft and tasty cookie made just for one!I live by myself and I love to bake.  When I was in college, I would bake, keep a few goodies for myself and then take the rest to church or to the residence of one of my wonderful male friends who were often my human garbage disposals.  When I had my first job, I would bake and take the rest to work and I have continued to do that in Houston.  The biggest problem with this is that I sometimes get a craving, but don’t want to put the time into a big recipe.  Enter the giant cookie – maybeeee I shouldn’t eat this gigantic cookie by myself, but no judgement for not sharing.  This cookie is made with browned butter which has its own amazing taste on its own! OH and another story! My pal, Jeff, has this obsession with food that has a “doughy” center.  He basically won’t eat pancakes, cinnamon rolls, cookies, etc unless they are raw in the middle.  This is the guy who has, more than once, stood over my shoulder while I’m baking so he can eat the dough (always avoiding the chocolate chips) or eat a cookie that has been out of the oven for less than 5 seconds.  This cookie is the epitome of a doughy center, and I hate to admit it, but Jeff may be right that the doughy middle is pretty delish.  Try it exactly according to the directions for a doughy cookie!  Could be perfect for a Valentine’s Day date ;)

Giant Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies
Yield: 1 gigantic cookie
Prep Time: 10 minutes                     Cook Time: 12-17 minutes (depending on desired doughy-ness) 

Giant Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie - Rebekah and her Ramblings. A soft and tasty cookie made just for one!What you need:

  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar, packed
  • 2 tablespoons egg (crack 1 egg, scramble, measure 2 T.)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 6 tablespoons flour (if you try GF, lemme know!)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon cornstarch (makes it sooo soft)
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips (I used a combo of semi-sweet, dark, and white chocolate- cleaning out the pantry)

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350* and line a baking dish with parchment paper
  • Brown butter in a small pot over medium heat – this takes about 4 minutes and you will see brown spots in the butter and smell a kind of nutty smell. DO NOT BURN
  • Let butter cool for about 3 minutes and then mix with sugars in a small mixing bowl.
  • Add the egg, vanilla, flour, salt, baking soda, and cornstarch, mix well – a spoon works great
  • Add the chocolate chips and mix thoroughly
  • Transfer the dough to the cookie sheet and kind of form into a loose ball
  • Bake for 12-17 minutes, depending on how doughy you want the middle- I cooked for 14 and you can see what the middle looked like
  • Let the cookie sit for about 7-10 minutes before moving to a cooling rack (move with the parchment paper if the cookie is doughy)

This recipe is adapted from Picky Palate.

Leave a Reply

