Avocado Chickpea Salad

Avocado Chickpea Salad - Rebekah and her Ramblings. A refreshing and light no heat salad, perfect for summer!So you know how I was talking about it being hot and stuff?  Well it is getting hotter.  But I live in Texas and that fact alone makes up for any complaints I have about how hot my apartment gets when I cook.  But, the salad I have for you today requires no heat and is very cool, refreshing, filling, meatless, gluten free, healthy, and just about any other positive adjective you can think of.  I know I’m late to the whole chickpea being used for things other than hummus party, but I’ve eaten chickpeas in way way or another for 4 dinners in the last 10 I’ve been home to make.  You’ll notice that the recipe is less specific than usual – that’s because it’s all about the flavors you like!! Cooking is a release of creativity.  I think tomatoes would be delicious in this and maybe bell pepper, too.

Avocado Chickpea Salad
Serves: 1           Total Time: 10 minutes

Avocado Chickpea Salad - Rebekah and her Ramblings.  A refreshing and light no heat salad, perfect for summer!What you need:

  • 1 regular avocado, cut into small pieces
  • 1/2 cucumber, cut sliced and quartered
  • 1 15 oz. can of chickpeas (or garbanzo beans), drained and rinsed
  • 1/2 bunch green onions, chopped – I use the whole onion and it’s really just about preference
  • 2-3 tablespoons cilantro, chopped
  • black pepper, to taste (I use close to 1 teaspoon, but I love pepper!!) – just make sure you sprinkle it around the bowl, don’t dump it all in one place to prevent clumping
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice
  • 1/4 cup feta cheese crumbles

Directions:

  • Combine avocado, cucumber, chickpeas, green onions, cilantro, pepper, and lime juice in a bowl.  Stir well until combined
  • Add the feta cheese and stir again before stuffing in your face 🙂

This recipe is adapted from Two Peas and Their Pod.

Leave a Reply

