Cookies ‘n Cream Cupcakes

Cookies 'n Cream Cupcakes - Rebekah and her Ramblings. A decadent oreo filled cupcake batter with a smooth chocolate buttercream!Baking is one of my favorite things to do. Since I’ve graduated from college over a year ago, my time for baking has vastly decreased.  My senior year, I baked at least 1 goodie every week for my precious freshmen and had tons of time to cook different meals and try tough recipes for desserts.  The best way to spend a Sunday afternoon is watching football – there is no debate there.  The second best way to spend a Sunday afternoon is baking something challenging and time consuming.  I love spending a few hours baking, it’s therapeutic and helps clear my mind.  I have a cupcake for you today that is delicious, especially if you love Oreo’s (and everybody does, let’s be real).  The cake is packed with oreo and the frosting is smooth and delicious.  I did not like the frosting Sally used, so I recommend my chocolate buttercream recipe, which is found here.  Next Sunday, I have plans to bake something for Ellie so stay tuned!!

Cookies ‘n Cream Cupcakes
Cookies 'n Cream Cupcakes - Rebekah and her Ramblings. A decadent oreo filled cupcake batter topped with a smooth chocolate buttercream!Yield:  15 cupcakes
Prep Time:  25-30 minutes                  Cook Time: 18-20 minutes

What you need for the cake:

  • 1 2/3 cup AP flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/4 cup plain greek yogurt
  • 3/4 cup milk (I used 2%)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1.5 cups oreo crushings – I used my food processor (I used 15 oreo’s and had about 2 tablespoons of crumbs left over to eat!)
  • 3 oreos, chopped, for topping (optional)

Cookies 'n Cream Cupcakes - Rebekah and her Ramblings. A decadent oreo filled cupcake batter topped with a smooth chocolate buttercream!I did not like the frosting Sally used, I recommend this one instead – it’s a smooth chocolate buttercream.

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350* and line a cupcake pan with liners (remember that this makes 15 cupcakes)
  • In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt, whisk until combined
  • In a medium-size microwave bowl, melt the butter
  • Whisk the sugar into the butter until fully mixed
  • Add the egg whites, greek yogurt, milk, and vanilla into the butter mixture until it is combined
  • Fold the butter mixture into the flour mixture and whisk until it is smooth
  • Add the oreo crumbs and whisk until fully incorporated – do not use an electric mixer
  • Scoop out 1/4 cup of batter and pour into the cupcake tins
  • Bake for 18-20 minutes (mine took exactly 18 minutes) or the cupcakes are firm and cooked through
  • Allow the cupcakes to sit in the pan for about 5 minutes before removing to a cooling rack
  • Frost with chocolate buttercream
  • Top with chopped oreo’s

The cupcake recipe was adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction, the frosting is mine 🙂

Leave a Reply

