Green Summer Salad

Green Summer Salad - Rebekah and her Ramblings. A delicious and light summer dinner!I am a recent fan of Feta cheese.  Growing up, we ate the harder and sharper cheeses like swiss, cheddar, asiago, and gouda.  Feta always seemed kind of weird to me with its crumbly melty kind of texture.  When I started looking for more recipes for cool (as in minimum heat being used) in the summer, I became a fan of feta as a way to top off many salads.  And I’ve also started getting really into Greek and Mediterranean foods, I have a major problem with wonderlust and food is a big part of it.  ANYWAY.  This salad uses ground meat (or ground breakfast sausage) and nice cool summer greens like avocado, cucumber, and cilantro, plus always delicious tomatoes.  I cannot tell you how many times I’ve eaten this in the last couple weeks, but it’s a lot – this is delicious and you deserve to eat this whenever your heart desires that weird feta cheese. Gluten free if you care about that kinda thing (and I do!)

Green Summer Salad
Serves: 1         Total Time: about 10 minutes

Green Summer Salad - Rebekah and her Ramblings. A delicious and light summer dinner!What you need:

  • 1/4 pound ground meat, cooked (I use breakfast sausage because it is always on sale)
  • 1/2 cucumber, sliced and then halved
  • 1 avocado, diced
  • a handful of cilantro, chopped small
  • a handful of cherry tomatoes (about 1/2 cup maybe?)
  • 2 tablespoons feta cheese
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice
  • black pepper, to taste

Directions:

  • Combine everything in a bowl and stir – easiest dinner ever

This was inspired by me trying to clean out my fridge one night – all of the best recipes come this way!

Leave a Reply

