Guilt Free Pasta Salad

Guilt Free Pasta Salad - Rebekah and her Ramblings. A healthy and cool summer dinner!Guys.  I’m watching football right now.  Okay, it’s preseason football and I kind of turned it on by accident, BUT STILL.  And yesterday, one of my college friends texted me to talk about football.  And then today, I talked about football at a work lunch.  I cannot wait for the season to start, and for cooler weather.  While I continue to sweat in the Houston heat (with no help from my broken car A/C…), I will dream of fall and football.  And nice cold pasta salad.  The great thing about this dish is that it’s loaded with vegetables, can be made ahead of time, and is gluten free!  It’s cool and refreshing, perfect for summer.  And if that’s not enough good news, I have more! In 9 days time, my beloved Aggies and Michigan Wolverines will be playing.  LIFE IS GOOD. (P.S. HEYYY to all my new followers #blessed I hope you’re ready for inconsistent postings and below average pictures (but above average dishes, I promise).  P.P.S. I’m going to have to try a ton of new recipes this next week – I only have one left in the stash (mostly because I forgot to take pictures of the last 2 dishes I made…))

Guilt Free Pasta Salad
Guilt Free Pasta Salad - Rebekah and her Ramblings.  A healthy and cool summer dinner!
Serves: 2 (as a main dish)                        Total time: 20 minutes

What you need:

  • 16 oz. small pasta, like rigatoni or bowtie (I have made this with quinoa or gluten free, any kind would be great)
  • 2 medium sized zucchini, sliced into discs
  • 1 can corn, drained and rinsed
  • garlic salt, to taste
  • 2 handfuls cherry tomatoes, sliced in half
  • pepper, to taste
  • 1/4 cup Italian dressing (I used lite)
  • 1/4 cup feta cheese (I used reduced fat)

Guilt Free Pasta Salad - Rebekah and her Ramblings. A healthy and cool summer dinner!Directions:

  • Cook the pasta (in salted water) according to directions and set aside
  • Spread the zucchini and corn in a large skillet and season with garlic salt
  • Cook over medium heat for about 5 minutes before flipping the zucchini and stirring
  • Continue to cook until the zucchini is soft and corn is warm and slightly blackened
  • In a large bowl, add the pasta, tomatoes, zucchini, and corn; season well with pepper and stir
  • Add the Italian dressing and feta cheese, stir until fully combined

This recipe is adapted from Chelsea’s Messy Apron.

 

Leave a Reply

