Lemon Strawberry Cupcakes

Lemon Strawberry Cupcakes - Rebekah and her Ramblings. A zesty and moist cupcake topped with a sweet and creamy buttercream frosting! Guys I heard Christmas music on the radio this week.  I am not a big fan of the commercialization of Christmas, but I loathe it before Thanksgiving.  While it is a bit cooler outside and Starbucks has officially switched to their non-controversial red cups, that is no reason to bring that Christmas music riff raff around a full 6 weeks before Christmas.  If you want to overplay the same 5 Christmas songs, can you at least let me be full of stuffing and green bean casserole before you make me suffer?  But I digress.  This is a time for being thankful and eating good food.  Today I am thankful that I live in a major city that has multiple radio stations so I’m not stuck listening to 12 different versions of White Christmas.  And I’m always thankful for good food.  I made these cupcakes for Andrew’s birthday a few months ago after I discovered that his favorite cake is LEMON.  I felt like a horrible friend for not knowing this, but also judged myself for my friend choices that one of my best friend’s has a favorite cake flavor of LEMON.  There is nothing wrong with LEMON, it’s just so… hipster.  Now Andrew reads and cooks from the blog so SHOUT OUT to my boy, but come on man, LEMON?  Probably not selling you guys on the recipe, am I?  Well, I made these bad boys and suddenly understood young Andrew’s infatuation with the little yellow fruit.  These bad boys are zesty and light and incredibly refreshing.  And this buttercream is TO DIE FOR.  Go make these, play music that is NOT Christmas-y, and enjoy the rest of your Sunday :)

Lemon Strawberry Cupcakes
Lemon Strawberry Cupcakes - Rebekah and her Ramblings. A zesty and moist cupcake topped with a sweet and creamy buttercream frosting!Yield: 2 dozen
Prep Time: 15 minutes                Total Cook Time: 16-19 minutes

What you need:

For the cupcakes:

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • zest of 2 large lemons
  • juice from 1 large lemon
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup milk (I used 2%)

For the frosting:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 2 tablespoons milk (I used 2%)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 cup strawberry preserves
  • 3 cups powdered sugar

Lemon Strawberry Cupcakes - Rebekah and her Ramblings. A zesty and moist cupcake topped with a sweet and creamy buttercream frosting!Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 375* and line a cupcake tin with liners
  • Cream the butter and sugar together in a large bowl until fluffy
  • Add the eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition
  • Stir the lemon zest, lemon juice, and vanilla extract into the mixture until fully combined
  • In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, and salt – stir well
  • Add half of the flour mixture to the butter mixture and mix
  • Add half of the milk and mix well
  • Add the remaining flour mixture, mix; add the rest of the milk, mix
  • Using 1/4 cup of batter, fill the cupcake tin and bake for 16-19 minutes or the cupcakes are set
  • Remove to cool completely
  • To make the frosting, combine all of the ingredients in a large bowl and beat until fluffy
  • There is not enough frosting to pipe a large amount of frosting onto each cupcake – I recommend using a large dollop and spreading with a knife

This cake recipe is adapted from Taste and Tell, the frosting is my own.

Leave a Reply

