One Pan Ground Meat Fall Skillet

One Pan Ground Meat Fall Skillet - Rebekah and her Ramblings.  A cozy and healthy dinner perfect for a cool fall night!I like to think that I’m a relatively even person – I generally go with the flow, am pretty easy going,  have very few problems taking a joke, and try to let things roll of my back.  One thing that I often let get to me is football.  I’m not necessarily proud of how invested I am when my Ags (or Michigan) are involved, but I like to think that it’s an adorable quirk that makes me the amazing person that I am.  And everybody has quirks, right? ANYWAY, Texas A&M had another extremely disappointing end to their season and I was there Thursday night to witness the worst defeat of the year.  Then today, Michigan lost a stupid game in double overtime to that stupid team from Ohio.  Needless to say, I wanted to eat my feelings away after these two terrible games.  I have always connected football with food because my mom always provided an amazing spread every Saturday while I sat on the couch like a fat child and attempted to watch three games at once.  Unfortunately, most of the food I associate with football is incredibly tasty and super unhealthy.  I am a big fan of GOOD FOOD and I know that healthy doesn’t have to mean it doesn’t taste good.  Recently, I had a super chill Monday where I just wanted to watch Monday Night Football and eat a good meal.  I decided to whip up this skillet dinner – easily cooked in one pan, packed with vegetables to fill you up, and really pretty to look at because of all the fun colors #adorbs  Asparagus is a fall staple as is squash so be sure to make this soon (healthy AND gluten free!!).  And if you get to watch your team win while you’re eating, well LUCKY YOU.

One Pan Ground Meat Fall Skillet
One Pan Ground Meat Fall Skillet - Rebekah and her Ramblings. A cozy and healthy dinner perfect for a cool fall night!Serves: 2
Prep Time: 5 minutes                       Total Cook Time: 20 minutes

What you need:

  • 1/2 pound ground meat (I used sausage, but you could use turkey, beef, venison, etc)
  • 1/2 yellow onion, diced
  • 1 large yellow squash, sliced and halved (to make half moons)
  • 1 bunch of asparagus – cut the tough ends off and then quarter (you can always use green beans)
  • 1 can diced tomatoes, drained
  • garlic salt, to taste
  • pepper, to taste
  • 1 tablespoon grated Parmesan cheese (optional)

Directions:

  • Begin to brown the ground meat in a large skillet over medium heat.
  • After about 5 minutes, add the onions
  • After about 3 minutes, add the squash, asparagus, and tomatoes to the skillet and season with garlic salt and pepper
  • Cook until the meat is cooked through, the onions are soft, and the other vegetables are sauteed to perfection
  • Remove from heat and top with cheese if desired

This recipe is adapted from Tone and Tighten.

Leave a Reply

