Peppermint Cupcakes

Peppermint Cupcakes - Rebekah and her Ramblings. A refreshing minty cake and frosting perfect for Christmas!Got a unique intro for you guys today – one that does not include a rant, but super deep insight and enlightenment.  GET READY.  I was also looking for an old recipe earlier and saw how many delightful gems I have. #HumbleBrag  Just as a refresher, here are some of my faves: Oreo Blondies, Pasta CarbonaraMilky Way Stuffed CookiesBacon Fried Rice, Cowboy Casserole, and S’mores Stuff.  One of the hardest things about caring so deeply about my blog is the constant need to find and perfect new recipes.  I have some really delicious things that I adore, but often forget about because I am constantly looking for new recipes – the things I do for my loyal readers (cheers to all four of you).  When I was looking over these recipes and salivating at an embarrassing rate, I saw a common theme about what I love in a recipe, and believe me, it’s more than just being packed with chocolate or cheese (but never together, that would be DISGUSTING).  I love a recipe that takes time or requires me to learn a new skill.  Cooking is one of my favorite hobbies and it helps clear my mind because it takes time and forces me to get better at something.  I’ve mentioned it before, but I burned and ruined an entire pot of pasta the first time I tried to make it.  Cooking is therapeutic and THE BEST because you get to eat something really good as a result!  I hope you all have the chance to slow down over the next few weeks and take your time cooking something amazing (from my blog of course) and enjoying the time it takes.  Embrace the small and slow things for the rest of the year because so much of our everyday life is fast and hectic.  Cooking is my slow and soothing, I hope you can do yours sometime soon! And if it’s making these beautiful PEPPERMINT cupcakes,then that’s even better 🙂

Peppermint Cupcakes
Peppermint Cupcakes - Rebekah and her Ramblings. A refreshing minty cake and frosting perfect for Christmas!Yield: 2 dozen            Total Time: about 75 minutes

Peppermint Cupcakes - Rebekah and her Ramblings. A refreshing minty cake and frosting perfect for Christmas!What you need:

  • For the cupcakes:
    • 1 box French Vanilla cake mix (shhh)
    • 3 eggs
    • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
    • 1 tablespoon (not a typo) peppermint extract
    • 1 cup water
  • For the frosting:
    • 1 cup shortening
    • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
    • 1 teaspoon peppermint extract
    • 6 cups powdered sugar
    • 1/2 cup heavy cream
    • 6 drops red food coloring
    • crushed candy cane, to garnish

Peppermint Cupcakes - Rebekah and her Ramblings. A refreshing minty cake and frosting perfect for Christmas!Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 350* and line a cupcake pan with liners
  • Combine all of the cake ingridients in a large bowl and beat on medium speed until smooth
  • Scoop 1/4 cup of batter into each cupcake tin and bake for 16-20 minutes or the cupcakes are set
  • Remove the cupcakes to a cooling rack to allow them to cool completely
  • Combine the shortening, vanilla extract, and peppermint extract together in a large bowl and beat until fully combined and fluffy
  • Add 1 cup of powdered sugar at a time to the bowl, briefly mixing after each addition to combine
  • After you have added all of the powdered sugar (frosting may seem very dry), add the cream and mix until smooth and creamy
  • Add the red food coloring and mix until the frosting is a rosy pink
  • Pipe the frosting onto the cooled cupcakes (there is plenty) and garnish with crushed candy cane

This recipe is adapted from Tidy Mom.

Leave a Reply

