Roasted Butternut Squash Soup

Roasted Butternut Squash Soup - Rebekah and her Ramblings.  A delicious butternut squash soup loaded with roasted bacon and onions!So you know how my post yesterday was all happy and you do you and cheerful and stuff? YEA none of that today.  Today I am going to rant. And I am going to rant about the weather.  That’s right, you have stepped into a blog of a 75 year old man so GET EXCITED.  On Saturday I went to the mall (which was a horrible idea, even though I got there by 10:30) and wore shorts and was LITERALLY sweating.  I parked miles away from the door because Christmas and was drenched in perspiration by the time I made it to the mall. And I wasn’t even buying stuff – I was returning it! WHAT THE HECK – my sweat wasn’t even good for anything except sadness that I don’t get to gift/keep any of that stuff. THEN I went to some other stores and sweat some more.  I was sweating so much that I didn’t get coffee. And I love treating myself to coffee on Saturday. THEN Sunday, I woke up and it was literally 35* outside.    I went to bed hot and woke up cold because the weather is stupid.  Then I was cold a lot of the day yesterday so I went to bed in my favorite cozy hoodie and woke up in the middle of the night dying of heatstroke.  I recognize that I sound dramatic and MAYBE I AM OKAY.  But like why can’t the weather just be cold so I can wear my cute fall clothes? That’s all I want.  AND this butternut squash soup because this soup is uh-may-zing.  When I came back from the gym this morning, my apartment still smelled like roasted bacon and onions and I started salivating right there wanting to gobble up this soup again.  If you’ve never had a butternut squash soup, I assure you this will not disappoint! GLUTEN FREE and oh so comfort food-y.  So make this and complain about the weather, or embrace it – it is the Christmas season after all.

Roasted Butternut Squash Soup
Yield: about 6 cups (serves about 3)
Prep Time: 20 minutes                  Total Cook Time: about 45 minutes

What you need:

  • 3 pound butternut squash, peeled, seeded, and diced
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 red bell pepper, seeded and diced
  • 8 slices bacon, divided
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon thyme
  • 2.5 cups chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup feta cheese

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 400* and spray a large cookie sheet with cooking spray
  • Place butternut squash, onion, pepper and 4 slices of raw, chopped bacon on the cookie sheet -drizzle with olive oil, minced garlic, and season with salt and pepper
  • Bake for 15 minutes and then rotate the pan and cook for 15 more
  • Cook remaining bacon until crispy; crumble and set aside
  • In a large pot, combine the squash mixture with the thyme and chicken broth -blend with an immersion blender (or food processor) until smooth
  • Bring the soup to a boil and the reduce to a low simmer for about 10 minutes or the soup is smooth, combined, and warm
  • Remove soup from heat and garnish with cheese and crumbled bacon

This recipe is adapted from MY FAVE Damn Delicious.

Leave a Reply

