Caramel Snickerdoodles

Caramel Snickerdoodles - Rebekah and her Ramblings. The perfect cookie loaded with caramel!Guys last night, I drove 16 miles in two hours. TWO HOURS.  Not only was I tired and frustrated, I also ate all my reserve beef jerky.  By the time I finally was moving more than 4 mph, I was thirsty and starving for something other than what the grocery store calls a “meat snack.” And also, how STUPID is that name? MEAT SNACK?  And for all you H-E-B haters (idiots) out there, this is not just an H-E-B thing, this is an every grocery store thing.  I know because I was forced to shop somewhere else this week and they also called my favorite road trip food a meat snack.  So on top of driving super slow and eating all my jerky, I also listened to the same stupid Keith Urban song on the radio like 20 times.  Seriously country radio, get your crap together and stop playing the same song performed by a guy from AUSTRALIA.  I’m sure he’s a good mate and all, but like, I live in Texas – the home of George Strait.  There’s literally no reason for a country music station IN TEXAS to play anything less than American made music.  I’m in a mood today, can you guys tell?  Well anyway, meat snacks are good, but caramel snickerdoodles are ALSO good.  Snickerdoodles, the most underrated cookie of all, are amazing and caramel is amazing so why not stuff some of that stick to your teeth goodness inside one of those cookies.  I’m telling you guys, you can have your caramel and eat it too. I make dreams come true with food guys, you know I’m right.

Caramel Snickerdoodles
Caramel Snickerdoodles - Rebekah and her Ramblings. The perfect cookie loaded with caramel!Yield: 3 dozen
Prep Time: 20 minutes                  Cook Time: 7-9 minutes

What you need:

  • 1.5 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2.75 cups AP flour
  • 2 teaspoons cream of tartar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 3 dozen Rolo’s, unwrapped
  • 1/4 cup cinnamon sugar (1/4 cup sugar + 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon)

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 375* and line a baking sheet with parchment paper
  • In a large bowl, beat the sugar and butter until creamy and fluffy
  • Add the eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition
  • Mix in vanilla
  • In a separate, medium sized bowl, stir the flour, cream of tartar, baking soda, and salt together
  • Fold the flour mixture into the large bowl, beating well until combined
  • Scoop 1 tablespoon into your hand and flatten it out
  • Place the rolo upside down into the dough and fold the dough around the rolo
  • Place the cookie rolo side upright and bake for 7-9 minutes
  • Remove from oven and let the cookies sit for about 5 minutes before moving to a cooling rack

This recipe is adapted from The Comfort of Cooking.

Leave a Reply

